Is Sushi Gluten Free?

The dynamism that characterizes the culinary world knows no borders. If, at this moment, we asked you to think of someone you know who does not consume foods with gluten, at least one name would cross your mind, surely. No?

As time goes by, people find newer things and get accustomed to newer diets. It has become a way of healing, expressing oneself, sharing, and sometimes, even making political statements.

This has caused many, many restaurants to reimagine their menus and the methods they create their dishes with. It isn’t uncommon to find menus with disclaimers and valuable information that give people the necessary information, such as allergy components of any ingredient, and give them the possibility of modifying orders to compliment their lifestyle.

Unsurprisingly, this also happens with gluten and the various, most common food items that contain it. Here, we will share with you the answer to a frequently asked question: Is sushi gluten free? Moreover, read on for some insights on how gluten has impacted the art of sushi and what alternatives there are to consume the delicious Japanese dish without necessarily ingesting the controversial protein.

Why do people look for gluten free options?

Though gluten is not normally a bad protein to have, it has been shown to be the only protein that cannot be completely broken down by a human body into amino acids.

One of the main reasons people have opted for a gluten-free diet is because of the recent boom in the Paleo diet. This diet seeks to imitate the cavemen diet, which includes lean meats, fish, fruits, vegetables, and zero processed foods.

Another important reason a gluten-free diet has been given greater importance is that it is perfect for a celiac or a patient highly intolerant to gluten.  Yes, though it is very difficult to determine this disease today, many people choose to eliminate this protein completely.

Does sushi have gluten?

The first thing that many would assume is that sushi is not suitable for a gluten-free diet. However, this highly depends on which options you have available in front of you. Determining whether a person following a gluten-free diet can consume sushi does not only depend on the rice, but also on the other ingredients that any of the delicious rolls are made up of.

Is sushi rice gluten-free?

One of the most important areas that should be closely monitored is the rice with which the roll is made because using distilled vinegar could cause discomfort to those who are intolerant to this protein. Additionally, when chefs opt for a wheat-based vinegar, the rice will undeniably contain gluten.

The second element that can determine if the sushi roll classifies as gluten-free are the sauces and other accompaniments that add flavor. Soy sauce, especially, is known to contain wheat ingredients, which will, unfortunately, exclude the roll from a gluten-free diet. The good news is that there are options like tamari or coconut aminos that will allow you to continue enjoying sushi without any regret and with a very similar taste, something very close to the original ones.

If you want to be sure about your next sushi order, something to stay away from is definitely the spicy options, as they increase gluten levels. It is also ideal to exclude accompaniments such as wasabi or other heavy seasonings.

Gluten free is not synonymous with healthy

Although a gluten-free diet is a lifestyle that is considered by many people to be beneficial when it comes to improving their health, controlling weight levels, and even digesting their food much better, according to several experts, there is no scientific reason to advise a gluten-free eating pattern to a healthy person, who is not celiac and does not have any intolerance to this protein.

Even so, when a person does decide to make a radical change to their diet, it should always be done in the company of a specialist, for when an arbitrary change is made, people deprive themselves of many key elements from their diet, such as vitamins and fibers that need to be compensated to maintain balanced nutrition. Beyond it being a simple food restriction, it must be a sustainable, healthy, and above all, responsible lifestyle.

It is advisable also to carefully read the labels of the food you buy or consume to ensure a limited intake of sugars, saturated fat, and excess salt.

Our opinion as sushi experts

For people who have a special health condition, eliminating gluten from their diets can bring benefits such as lowering blood pressure and reducing cholesterol and triglyceride levels. However, a gluten-free lifestyle is challenging and it must always be supervised by professionals in the health area.

When you visit Kae, you will find gluten-free options like our Nigiri Sea, Hamachi roll, and the Sashimi Platter. In addition, you’ll be delighted to know that when it comes to rice, we make sure to always use gluten-free options that suit your intake options no matter the medical condition you have. Rest assured that at Kae, you will find an option for each person and lifestyle. The question: Is sushi gluten-free? For us, beyond being an impediment when it comes to creating dishes, it is a challenge that we gladly accept every day to create options that will, surely, blow your mind.


Kani Sushi

What exactly is Kani?

Kani sushi is not as illustrious as you may think it is. The word “Kani” is actually Japanese for “crab,” usually imitation crab meat. Kani

Read More »